Black Desert Online merges down into EU and NA 'New World' servers
If you ever thought that Black Desert's server structure was unwieldy and esoteric, good news for you! Kakao has announced that the western version of the game will be merging all of its servers into two regional servers on November 30th, one for Europe and one for North America. They're not calling it a merge, though. Dubbed "New World," the merging update is said to "enable the authentic 'one world' experience Black Desert Online has been pursuing" and improve the economy too. "The economy system of Black Desert Online greatly benefits from an active interaction between combat and life contents," Kakao says. "With the New World, a single Marketplace will cater a greater number of players, therefore housing an enormous collection of items registered by all the players in the region."
If you're thinking "but what if," the answer is almost certainly that whatever it is you're asking about will be merged, according to a massive new FAQ. But there are a few points you'll want to pay attention to, especially if you happen to run characters on multiple servers:
"If a player has characters across multiple servers, the last server you log into before the maintenance on November 30th will be designated as your 'main server'. The nodes in the main server are kept. The nodes from other servers are converted to Contribution Point EXP, and they are added to the main account's Contribution Point EXP. [This is also the server that will determine which of your guilds you'll stay in.]
"If a player has characters across multiple servers, the last server you log into before the maintenance on November 30th will be designated as your 'main server'. You will keep the housing from this server (including nodes), and all the housing supplies from other servers are put back into the Warehouse of the area they originally belong to.
"If a player has more than 12 characters, characters are sorted from the highest level to the lowest level. The information for all characters is kept. However only the first 12 characters with the highest level are playable. If you delete one of the 12, the next highest level character in line will show up on the list. The characters not in the top 12 can only be deleted, and they will be automatically deleted after 90 days. All characters created before the merge will have a 10 minute delete confirmation time."