Multiplayer sandbox Staxel builds out NPCs, pet shops, and summer festivals

Staxel took over the playtime of a bunch of my Twitter buddies this past winter when it hit early access on Steam. We described it as a cross between Stardew Valley and Trove, with sandboxy content that’s more focused on farming, fishing, and growing a village than on being a murder hobo. At the time, we noted that it wasn’t full-on MMORPG but that multiplayer at least was happening.

Since then, the game’s seen several updates, as I realized when I caved and bought the game on the Steam sale yesterday. March saw tweaks to the camera and economy; April touched on the mod manager, achievements, crop quality. Most recently, the team posted its plans for the 1.3 update, which further fleshes out the NPCs of the world, adds a pet shop, and integrates festivals into gameplay.

“This update contains a lot of changes to how Staxel will be played, and we think everyone will enjoy what it will bring to the table. The villagers are much more fleshed out now, and with another festival in the pool you will all be able to celebrate the release of 1.3 in style! Thanks everyone for giving this a read, I hope you’re all as pumped for 1.3 as we are! I can’t give you a specific release date, but what I can say is it’s not long now!”

Source: Steam
SHARE THIS ARTICLE
Code of Conduct | Edit Your Profile | Commenting FAQ | Badge Reclamation | Badge Key

12
LEAVE A COMMENT

Please Login to comment
  Subscribe  
newest oldest most liked
Subscribe to:
Reader
Utakata

Chibicraft! <3

Reader
IronSalamander8 .

I like the graphical style for certain. Will have to take a look at the least.

Also, I’ve heard the term before but the term: ‘murder hobo’ always makes me laugh.

Reader
socontrariwise

Staxel has had festivals since the beginning, this is the announcement of an additional one. It is a cute game but I would not call it Stardew Valley/Trove mix but rather Minecraft building plus Farmville with a small smattering of Stardew-like romancing/friendship.
It is all very limited (still?), rather grindy, tiny island with not much use to exploring. The festivals are a true highlight though in my opinion.

Reader
nobleeinherjar

I’m looking forward to this game (and My Time At Portia, while we’re on the subject) when it fully launches. More games in the vein of Story of Seasons and Stardew Valley is only a good thing in my book.

Reader
socontrariwise

I can whole-heartedly say that My Time At Portia is already so polished and rich in content and personalities that you can buy it now and be very happy with the game as is. By far the biggest and most positive surprises in games for me in a long time.

Reader
Kickstarter Donor
Vexia

I put this on my wishlist so I can buy it when it fully launches. :)

Minimalistway
Reader
Minimalistway

Every time MOP post anything about this game makes me want Cube World more, graphic style is not that different from Cube World (nothing wrong with that!).

Reader
Mike Minier

I loved Cube World! I keep it installed and run the launcher every once in a blue moon hoping for an update:(

Reader
Sorenthaz

Has Cube World had any updates? I know there was a big one planned like… a year or two ago but never heard further than that.

Minimalistway
Reader
Minimalistway

Last update from the developer in Twitter was in july 2017, a video showing a new feature, so i’m hoping he is working on it.

Reader
Kickstarter Donor
Vexia

They have a history of ghosting and then coming back after a long period of time, so I guess it’s not entirely out of the question… It could take quite a while though.

Reader
IronSalamander8 .

I enjoyed Cube World too. I really want to try it again once it updates again. And yes, I thought the exact same thing on this game’s graphic style as well.