Destiny 2’s two new Witch Queen dungeons will require a separate purchase to access


When you buy in to an expansion, you expect to be purchasing a few things like new areas, new skills, and maybe some new dungeons. In the case of the upcoming Witch Queen expansion for Destiny 2, however, that’s not the case, as one of the game’s community managers has confirmed on Reddit that accessing the two new dungeons being released will require one of a couple of separate purchases instead of including them as part of the expansion or its season pass:

“If you get the Digital Deluxe Edition of The Witch Queen you will receive the expansion, all four Seasons for the next year, and the two Dungeons. If you get the Standard Edition, you can still upgrade to the Deluxe Edition to get the dungeons later. We will also be offering a separate way for you to purchase the Dungeons in the future, but they will not be included in the Season passes.”

Response to this monetization scheme has been apoplectic, with the reply hitting over 2,000 downvotes and players hitting the announcement with a litany of angry reactions, ranging from calling the move scummy and unfair to others wondering aloud how long it would take Bungie to stuff these two new dungeons into the Vault. More information is set to be released as the content gets closer to release, but initial reaction to this news is definitely not happy.

source: Reddit, thanks to Arktouros for the tip!
Previous articleNew World’s faction PvP is rife with guild drama over ‘throwing’
Next articleInto the Super-Verse: Has Homecoming torched the plans of City of Heroes successors?

No posts to display

oldest most liked
Inline Feedback
View all comments