Star Wars Galaxies emulator plans Carrie Fisher tribute event on December 27

    
10

When Carrie Fisher died two years ago this month, I actually sat in my car and cried. This is not something I normally do, feel sad over celebs – it’s absurd. But she wasn’t just a celeb, and when the tributes started flowing in, I realized that basically every person I care about, cared about her – for totally different reasons. She was at the heart of so many important causes and movements, from mental health and body image to addiction and feminism to parenting and geekdom. Even dog lovers loved her. She was a hero to so many more people than I realized.

I have a reason for dredging this up and potentially making you sad all over again: Star Wars fans are planning to honor her inside an MMO this week. That MMO is Star Wars Galaxies, specifically the Legends emulator. Here’s the official announcement:

“December 27th marks the two year anniversary since Carrie Fisher’s passing and we want to pay tribute to the incredible story our princess, Carrie Fisher, lived and told. We want to invite you to a tribute service to celebrate her life which will be taking place on Thursday December 27th at Dee’ja Peak on Naboo (/waypoint 5225 -1655) at 10PM GMT UK/5PM EST USA/2PM PST USA. 11.15PM GMT UK/6.15PM EST USA/3.15PM PST USA”

Those of you who never played SWG might not realize that Princess Leia is actually in the game and plays a central role in multiple events and themeparks (quest hubs), and the Dee’ja Peak meeting spot on Legends is actually set up as a Princess Leia and R2-D2 memorial.

If you’re angling to attend or just want to drop into this emulator – one of many for the beloved MMO sandbox – check out our guide from this past summer.

Source: SWGL. Thanks to Thorsten for notifying us about the time change!
newest oldest most liked
Subscribe to:
Reader
Freddyy

It’s been a nice crowd and a dance off at the end.

“May the force be with you, always”

screenShot0036.jpg
screenShot0054.jpg
Reader
Kickstarter Donor
Eboni

I want to be a merchant and explorer or something. I have no clue which SWG game to play, lol. All I know is that I don’t think that I want to run multiple characters. Also, last time I tried (before the Legends opened) It was nothing but bots spamming the trade channel and I got discouraged.

Reader
Loyal Patron
Patreon Donor
Kickstarter Donor
Nick Martin

I’m quite enjoying playing Legends… it feels closest to what was there when the game was life, even if smaller scale

Reader
PanagiotisLial1

I never really had the chance to try SWG before its shutdown in 2011, but its nice to see the game is out there somehow and honoring fallen star wars actors

Reader
starbuck1771

Yeah the memorial was put in game shortly after she died and if I remember that’s also where you get the Leia musical mini statue that plays Leia’s theme.

Reader
McGuffn

Carrie was a class act and just about anyone who was at one of her one-woman shows had a great experience. Losing her mother just days later still seems inconceivable. For me, Fisher was Star Wars. I don’t like Luke although I think I’m one of the few who loved him in The Last Jedi (for the most part) so the main character was out. Leia was the only major character to carry any sense of responsibility. She was a teenager clandestinely saving the rebellion, a military commander and kicked her own asses. Luke’s character arc was teenage angst and running away was always in the back of Han’s mind.

Reader
Loyal Patron
Patreon Donor
Kickstarter Donor
Winter

I was in the same boat Bree don’t normally get upset over celebs dying (other than the passing of a human being) but Carrie Fisher’s death really hurt. Glad they are doing a memorial

Reader
Hikari Kenzaki

Reminds me of my May the 4th shot from SWTOR

maythe4th.jpg